Did I understand the concept of accounts?

Hi
I’m just starting to learn about Solana(I don’t have Ethereum experience either). But the concept of accounts is a little confusing so I’m not sure whether I understand it correctly or not. So I’m going to explain what I understand from the docs and I appreciate it if anyone can correct my misunderstandings:

1. Even if I only have a Solana wallet(I don’t have any on-chain programs), that means there is an on-chain account which is holding the balance of my wallet.

2. The account that is holding the balance of my wallet is owned by the system program.

3. I can write a Solana program in Rust and then create an on-chain account to hold my program. Then I have to make it executable. After that I need to create another account(NOT executable) so that I can hold the state of my program. The non-executable account must be owned by the executable account.

Are these statements correct? If not, what’s wrong with them?
Thanks

1 Like

This post was flagged by the community and is temporarily hidden.

Hi @massivefermion , welcome to the forum!

Your understandings of accounts sounds correct to me. :slight_smile:

There is one thing that may be worth noting in addition to your points above:

To store your program’s state, you can create as many accounts as you want. For instance, this can be useful if you need to store a list of items in your program data that you don’t know the length of before hand. As far as I understand, once an account is created, you can’t change the length in bytes of the data in the account, so creating multiple accounts to store program data in can be a way to store a non-fixed amount of data.

For instance, I created a simple calendar reservation demo app with Solana, and each reservation was represented with a separate account. That account would store info about the reservation, such as what time the reservation was at, and what user scheduled the reservation, etc.