Error when trying to mint new token?

Hey guys, I’m very new to Solana and basically just wanted to try creating my own token based off of Solana. I have installed Rust and all of the other prereqs. I have my token created and account, but when I want to mint using the command spl-token mint my token ID, the amount to be minted, my token account number

I get the following error RPC response error -32002: Transaction simulation failed: Error processing Instruction 0: custom program error: 0x3 [5 log messages]

Any help would appreciated. Thanks!

1 Like

Hi @Driverx2030 and welcome to the forum! :wave:

What version of the Solana do you have installed, and what network are you connected to?

I was able to connect create a token and mint some with this Solana config:

➜ solana --version
solana-cli 1.7.15 (src:4892eb4e; feat:2995838076)

~ 
➜ solana config get
RPC URL: https://api.testnet.solana.com 
WebSocket URL: wss://api.testnet.solana.com/ (computed)

Having the same issue on both devnet and mainnet

Hi @customD and welcome to the forum! :wave:

I’m not connected to either network right now so I can’t test it, but maybes try running solana-install update if you haven’t already and see if that helps.

I just ran the update and it’s giving me version 1.9.4, so your version looks too new maybe.

Thank you for the quick response, @zicklag. will that command move my version back (or is there a way to do that)?

@zicklag Also, I’m on a Windows machine

I was able to go to 1.9.4 and still receiving the same error

That’s strange what do you see if you run spl-token --version?

I have a version based on 2.0.15.

I’m at the same 2.0.15

In your powershell prompt try running this command to set the log level to debug for that terminal session:

$env:RUST_LOG = 'debug'

Then try running the spl-token command again, and see what that shows. That might give us more info on what the error is about.