Hello new developer here

Hey everyone i am new to solana and had a few questions regarding the wallet tutorial, would love any help i could get if there is anyone willing to explain a few things.

Hi @jbgunner24 and welcome to the forum! :wave:

I’d be glad to answer any questions you have.

1 Like

Thank you. i am currently going throught the wallet tutorial on learn.figment.io. it is going over how to set up a wallet using command line. In the step2 of the tutorial they somehow connected the online wallet to an ide. if you could help explain to me how they got to that part that would be great. also what is the best way to learn how to create and develop around sol. is there a specific course or website that you would recommend. any help would be appreciated. thanks

I’ll have to check out the figment tutorial as soon as I get the chance to see what they did.

Honestly, there aren’t a lot of beginner-ready docs that I know of for getting started with Solana. I’ve wanted to create a Solana learning website, as I’ve got a pretty good idea of how a lot of it works now, but I haven’t yet gotten the time.

If you have questions I can do my best to respond here on the forum. I like helping people learn how things work and Solana is really exciting.

Okay. I know a couple languages and I’m open to leaning new ones. I will also continue doing my research but which area would you recommend I focus in order to get a better understanding of Blockchain development. Ex wallets? Dapps? Smart contracts?.

For understanding Solana development, probably focus on how smart contracts and the Solana data model such as accounts, and rent, etc. work.

There actually is some good docs on that here: Overview | Solana Docs.

Then it’s good to know that there’s kind of two different ways to start writing Solana smart contracts right now: there’s the raw Solana way, and then there’s the Anchor framework way.