I cant choose please help

Hello im developer, i wanna start to be developer of blockchain but i cant choose solana or eth? which one is good? i have some reseach; solana has limit 500m it is negative i think. it should be unlimited. am i wrong?

Hi @gokhancava and welcome to the forum! :wave:

I’m not an economics expert, but I think that it is a good thing that there is a maximum to the Solana tokens supply. My understanding is that in order to maintain the value of any token, you have to have factors in the design the prevent infinite inflation. If the token supply could get larger and larger with no limit, it would cause the value of SOL to drop consistently and it would mean that anybody who holds SOL would have it continually losing value as they held it.

Solana has a maximum token limit and controls in place to combat inflation, both of which, I believe, are important to preserving the value of the token in to the future.

It’s worth noting that Bitcoin also has a maximum token supply.

As for the comparison between Solana and Ethereum. I can only compare to Ethereum 1.0, because I don’t know much about Ethereum 2.0, but some big things that seem to make Solana better than Ethereum are:

• Speed: Solana can perform transactions way faster than Ethereum
  • Gas fees: The gas fees are insane on Ethereum. I couldn’t believe it when the suggested default gas fee to pay just for signing up to an Ethereum freelancing site was $150. Solana transaction fees are capped at $0.01.

I really feel like Solana is going to be one of the blockchains of the future.

Still, Ethereum 2.0 I think is going to be doing some good improvements to speed. I just don’t know a lot about it yet, and it isn’t live yet as far as I know.