Passive (debit) transaction service?

Hi, I am pretty new to blockchain technology, and I had an idea that it would be nice if clients had to pay fees to use a server api or website. But I have a hard time figuring out how this should be implemented in detail, so I am asking here if someone could help me.

The idea is to have a server expose an API, that is guarded by a fee collector, i.e. the server has a wallet and clients have to pay a fee to that wallet before their requests get accepted. This should also work for websockets, where each processed message sent between client and server should incur a fee.
The client should be able to use a browser wallet to automatically pay the fee while using the website without any interaction (if configured) and with as little overhead as possible.

I imagine this to be implemented in a way as the server sending clients it’s wallet address and something like a catalogue, so that clients know how to pay the fees before they make the requests. Basically accessing something like a catalogue route or the index of a website is free and when the user initiates a chargable request, they send a proof that they paid the required fee along with it. The server then verifies the proof and processes the request or rejects it.

For websockets this might be a bit more complicated, because the client would need to pay for subscriptions which are executed by the server, so the client needs to deposit funds in advance which are then used to pay the fees directly on the server. The server could send “low balance” notifications over the websocket to inform the user if they need to deposit more funds to use the service.