Sent SOL to wrong address

Hi all,

I was withdrawing 6.9 SOL from my FTX account into my personal wallet and I didn’t double check the wallet address, so the address is off by 1 number. I figured the transaction wouldn’t go through if the address is invalid. However, on FTX the transaction says “completed”. I already contacted FTX help desk and explained my situation; however, when I check the status transaction I am brought to solscan.io. The account (or the wallet address that I typed incorrectly) holds the 6.9 SOL that I sent. I’m still new to this all, and I know I’m a total idiot for not copying/pasting the address, but is there anything I can do to secure my funds?

Thanks,

Skylar

1 Like

I think you sol is already gone, you have to forget it,

I joined just to tell you I did the exact same thing with the FTX app I’m really pissed off that stupid address word wraps the last letter and I left the last letter off. The weird thing is the destination address isnt even a valid wallet but solflare wallet accepted it, and there my crypto sits. I lost over 30 for the exact same error. Why cant blockchains be fixed to allow non-valid addresses to get pushed back to their original owners if the address hasnt “registered” yet or give a warning OR let me go register that address and retrieve my crypto. Really disappointed at the lack of support.

2 Likes

Yes it’s so frustrating because if my wallet address is a unique sequence of digits and one key is wrong why is the transaction going through? Shouldnt the sender and receiver have to have valid addresses for a transaction to go through. And then I see the sol I sent and it’s just sitting collecting dust while the coin doubles in price lmao ridiculous. Crazy how someone couldn’t help us